The 2009 US Open champion, Juan Martin del Potro, and world No. 14 Petra Kvitova have been named recipients of the sixth annual US Open Sportsmanship Awards.

The award is presented to the professional tennis players who best demonstrate excellence in sportsmanship throughout the US Open Series and the US Open.

Del Potro has advanced to the singles semifinals this year after defeating five-time champion Roger Federer in the quarterfinals. Kvitova advanced to the women’s quarterfinals after missing much of the first half of 2017.

“Both Juan Martin and Petra have not only captivated us at this year’s US Open, but have shown incredible class in doing so,” said USTA Chairman, CEO and President Katrina Adams. “With Petra’s incredible comeback story and Juan Martin’s ability to capture the New York crowd, we couldn’t be happier to honor these great competitors with our US Open Sportsmanship Awards.”

The USTA started a Sportsmanship Committee in 2011. Its charge is to “educate and inspire youngsters and their parents to develop and exhibit a high degree of sportsmanship and an attitude of fair play and mutual respect on and off the tennis court. Underlying the charge is the ethical imperative that fairness is more important than winning.”

Eligibility requirements for winners include participating in at least two Series tournaments, as well as the 2017 US Open.  Each US Open Sportsmanship Award winner receives a trophy and a $5,000 donation to the charity of his or her choice. Past winners include Angelique Kerber and Kei Nishikori (2016), Venus Williams and Kevin Anderson (2015), Roger Federer and Caroline Wozniacki (2014), Li Na and David Ferrer (2013) and Bob and Mike Bryan and Samantha Stosur (2012).