I'd seen a lot of pictures and videos of the Hall of Fame, but to actually be there in person makes it a lot more special. You feel the history. You feel how unique being a Hall of Famer is.

I actually got emotional. For me, it's almost like your childhood and your whole life kind of flashes through your head. I see Steffi Graf, Monica Seles, players I admired when I was a little girl coming out of school, watching the French Open, seeing them hold trophies up. A few meters forward, there's my picture. It’s very humbling.

In Belgium and across Europe, it’s not in our culture to have those types of tributes, so it only struck me just how special it was when I saw the reaction of everybody else. In Belgium, we'd never heard of the Hall of Fame when I was younger. I didn’t hear about it until I started playing internationally and started going to different sporting events in the United States – NBA events, baseball events, NFL events – and people would be announced as Hall of Famers. In Belgium, we don’t have that, so the only way to fully understand and experience how emotional that moment is when you live it on the day.

I remember the moment I found out I was nominated to the Hall of Fame, and I remember the day I found out that Andy Roddick and I had gotten in on the first ballot. I got a call – actually my husband Brian got a call – which really surprised him, but I don't think it really sunk in straight away. I wasn't home, but Brian said Stan Smith from the Hall of Fame called. Stan didn’t say what it was for, he just asked Brian to have me call him back.

play video 2017 Hall of Fame: Kim Clijsters

Tennis has been so great to me. It has given me so many opportunities, and it's taught me so many lessons, lessons that are applicable both on and off the court, lessons I often talk with the students at my academy.