Six former champions headline 2013 US Open men’s field

July 17, 2013 03:31 PM
2012 US Open Champion Andy Murray and world No. 1 Novak Djokovic headline the 2013 US Open men's field.
By E.J. Crawford,
The final Grand Slam event of the season will feature the finest men’s players in the world, with all members of the Top 100 – including six former US Open champions – on the entry list for the 2013 US Open.
The men’s field was announced Wednesday and will be headlined by those returning champions, including defending champion, 2013 Wimbledon winner and current world No. 2 Andy Murray; 2011 US Open champion, 2013 Australian Open winner and world No. 1 Novak Djokovic; 2010 US Open champion, 2013 French Open winner and world No. 4 Rafael Nadal; five-time US Open champion and world No. 5 Roger Federer; 2009 US Open champion and world No. 7 Juan Martin del Potro; and 2001 US Open champion Lleyton Hewitt.
Also entered are current world No. 3 David Ferrer, No. 6 Tomas Berdych and No. 8 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, as well as the top-ranked Americans Sam Querrey (No. 19) and John Isner (No. 21). Other U.S. players slated to compete in the main draw are No. 62 Mardy Fish, No. 81 Michael Russell, No. 84 Jack Sock, No. 86 James Blake, No. 92 Denis Kudla and No. 98 Steve Johnson.
Michal Przysiezny, ranked No. 102, was the last player accepted directly into the men’s field of 128. Additionally, Pablo Cuevas and Jurgen Zopp used protected rankings to gain direct entry. Sixteen more players will gain entry through the US Open Qualifying Tournament, held August 20-23, while the remaining eight main-draw spots are wild cards awarded by the USTA.
The July 15 edition of the ATP World Tour rankings was used to determine the US Open main draw entry list. Seeds will be determined and announced closer to the start of the event.
The women’s field will be announced Thursday.
The 2013 US Open marks the culmination of the 2013 Emirates Airline US Open Series, the North American summer season of nine ATP World Tour and WTA events that begins Monday, July 22.
This year’s US Open begins on Monday, Aug. 26, and runs through Monday, Sept. 9. Visit the US Open Tickets page to purchase seats for this year’s event.


Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
My-US-Open-Account-splita-Premium-Services My-US-Open-Account-splita-MyAccount

US Open Patriotic Hat Navy

Vintage Noah Hoodie

Ladies Outline T-Shirt

Neutron Hat

Patriotic T-Shirt

US Open Ice Hat White

Friends at Court Book

US Open Patriotic Hat White

US Open Ice Hat Red

US Open Ice Hat Navy

Rules of Tennis Book
Work at US Open |  Site Map |  Privacy |  Terms of Use |  Sponsors |  Green Initiatives |  Contact Us
© Copyright United States Tennis Association 2015. All Rights Reserved.