Skip Navigation
Presented by
Presented by

US Open By the Numbers: 138

Five-time US Open champion Pete Sampras (Getty Images)
Photo by:  (Getty Images) is currently hosting voting for the Ultimate US Open champion, with fans selecting the greatest men’s and women’s singles winner in the tournament’s history.

Since the first U.S. Championships in 1881, there have been 138 different players who have won singles titles, which breaks down to 73 men and 65 women.

The vast majority have been American, with 36 U.S. men and 36 U.S. women claiming titles, most recently by Andy Roddick (2003) and Serena Williams (2014). Next on the list for men is Great Britain, with four different champions, and for women it’s a four-way tie among Australia, Belgium, Great Britain and Russia, all of which have had two different winners.

Interestingly, only one player, man or woman, has won titles representing two different countries: Molla Bjurstedt Mallory, who won four for Norway (1915-18) followed by four for the U.S. (1920-22, 1926).

Mallory’s eight titles are also the most won by any player, one ahead of seven-time women’s singles champion Helen Wills Moody and the trio of men’s leaders: Bill Tilden, Bill Larned and Richard Sears. Of the men, Tilden won the most recent title, in 1929, while all of Sears’ titles came in the 1880s.

In the Open era, which began in 1968, there have been 47 total singles champions, breaking down to 26 men and 21 women. In that department, the co-leaders are Chris Evert and Serena Williams, with six each. The men’s leaders, at five apiece, are Jimmy Connors, Roger Federer and Pete Sampras.