Skip Navigation
Presented by
Presented by

US Open By the Numbers: 11

Steffi Graf at the 1988 US Open (Getty Images)
Photo by:  (Getty Images)

At the 2016 US Open, Novak Djokovic and Garbine Muguruza will be bidding to join a select list: players who have captured the French Open and US Open singles titles in the same year. Since the US Open shifted from green clay to hard courts with the tournament’s move to Flushing Meadows in 1978, only 11 players – four men and seven women – have won both Paris and New York in the same year.

The four men have accomplished the feat on a mere five occasions, with Ivan Lendl (1986-87) the only one to do so twice. Mats Wilander followed Lendl just one year later, in 1988, but it would be 11 years before it happened again – with Andre Agassi completing the career Grand Slam at Roland Garros before taking his second trophy in Flushing Meadows in 1999 – and another 11 after that – with Rafael Nadal taking the French and U.S. titles in 2010.

Conspicuously absent from this group are arguably the two best men’s players of the past 30 years, Roger Federer and Pete Sampras. Federer was the victim of Nadal hogging most of the titles in Roland Garros. And Sampras was the victim of playing in an era when the discrepancy between France’s slow dirt and New York’s speedy concrete was far greater than it is today.

The Paris-New York double is a far more common occurrence among the women, not shocking considering the dominant runs of its greatest champions (Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova, Steffi Graf, Serena Williams, etc.). Somewhat surprising, though, is that Evert and Navratilova only accomplished the sweep once each, as did Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario.

Of all players, Graf was the most frequent double dipper, having won the French Open and US Open in the same year on four occasions. Monica Seles, Justine Henin and Serena Williams, meantime, each did it twice – remarkably for Serena, at an 11-year interval (2002, 2013).

Here’s a look at the complete list:

1986 – Ivan Lendl
1987 – Ivan Lendl
1988 – Mats Wilander
1999 – Andre Agassi
2010 – Rafael Nadal

1980 – Chris Evert
1984 – Martina Navratilova
1988 – Steffi Graf
1991 – Monica Seles
1992 – Monica Seles
1993 – Steffi Graf
1994 – Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario
1995 – Steffi Graf
1996 – Steffi Graf
2002 – Serena Williams
2003 – Justine Henin
2007 – Justine Henin
2013 – Serena Williams